Close this search box.

Texas Urban Council Elects New Officers

The Texas Urban Council brings together superintendents from our state’s largest school districts to “to transform educational practices and improve student outcomes through collaborative innovation and strategic advocacy.” Reaching this ambitious goal requires strong organizational leadership, provided by a rotating set of officers elected by and from the Council’s superintendents  on a yearly basis.

That annual cycle continued at last month’s quarterly convening in Round Rock. There, members elected Dr. Roland Hernandez, Superintendent of Corpus Christi ISD, to continue to serve as the body’s Chair for another one-year term. Diana Sayavedra of El Paso ISD was selected as the Chair-Elect. Dr. Jaime Aquino of San Antonio ISD was selected as Budget Chair, and Austin ISD’s Matias Segura will lead advocacy efforts as Legislative Chair.

“We are thrilled to welcome our newly elected officers to the Texas Urban Council’s leadership team,” said Dr. Hernandez, the incumbent Chair. “Their expertise, dedication, and passion for improving the experiences and outcomes of Texas students make them powerful partners to lead the direction of our council. I am confident that by continuing our work together, we can achieve our collective vision of preparing all our students to thrive in the world.”

Thank you to each of the new elected officers for volunteering your limited time to fulfill the responsibilities of your role. And thanks again to outgoing officers Dr. Stephanie Elizalde, Dr. René Gutiérrez, and Millard House for your service to the organization.